Humdrum to Highjinks

I’d  had a tiresome day at work yesterday, and the manic excitement of last week’s discovery that I would have stunts and fighting to do has worn off to more of a quiet hum at the back of my head.

Rehearsal last night rumbled along in the typically early-days-fiddly way of stopping and starting. Breaking the section down and blocking it out until it felt right and looked right.Going over it again.

There is one section in act 2 where a detective (SR) interrogates one person (MB) and then sends them away and interrogates the second person (me). SR and MB went through the lines, working out the moves, all’s well and good. I come one, MB goes off.

SR and I run through our lines. My position gets moved about, SR paces about behind me. We run it again, all the same as usual until SR gets a bright idea. All of a sudden he’s growl-shouting. Right in my ear.

For a bloke who must be 6 foot he can move pretty damn quietly and he can growl pretty damn loudly.

To say I yelled is far from overstating it. I think I probably more like bellowed, and jumped a good foot off my chair!

 

yikes

Followed immediately by a huge fit of the giggles that I could not stop for several minutes.

SR is a toad of the first order!

He’s also, or course, a good bloke, and we wouldn’t be without him…. but he’s definitely a toad.

Needless to say my tiresome day was long forgotten: rehearsal works it’s healing magic again!

xoxo

TheatreCams

Leave a Reply

